About Officers

Tricia Wharton

Tricia Wharton RN, BSN, AMB-BC - President

Tricia Wharton has been a registered nurse since 2006. The bulk of her nursing has been in Gastroenterology and perioperative settings. She is experienced in various roles, including staff, charge nurse, and unit coordinator. She is a graduate of Broome Community College and obtained her BSN from Grand Canyon University. Tricia has obtain her certification in Physical Rehabilitation, Gastroenterology Nursing, and most recently Ambulatory Care Nursing. Tricia has been an active member of PNASCNY for over five years and is the current President of the PNASCNY.

Danielle Caviness MSN, RN

Danielle Caviness MSN, RN - Vice Predident

Danielle has served in multiple professional roles in nursing with UHS as a Nurse manager, Nurse Educator in critical care, staff Nurse, and in the community. The 2019 Honored Nurse in Advocacy, District 15, Professional Nurse’s association of South Central New York. Advocating for patients and families has been rewarding throughout my nursing career. Advocacy has led to developing the Fetal Demise, Infant, and Child Bereavement program, including a support group and annual Walk to Remember.


  • MS Nursing – Capella University
  • BS Nursing – Utica College
  • AS Nursing – Broome Community College


  • Professional Nurses Association of South Central New York – Board member
  • Organize the Fetal Demise, Infant and Child Bereavement Support group and Annual Walk to Remember
  • President of Choconut Valley Little League
  • President of Susquehanna little league
  • Vice-President of Choconut Valley Youth athletic Association

Pamela (Pam) Stewart Fahs

Pam Stewart Fahs, Ph.D. - Secretary

Pamela (Pam) Stewart Fahs, Ph.D. is a Professor and holds the Dr. G. Clifford and Florence B Decker Endowed Chair in Rural Nursing at Binghamton University in the Decker College of Nursing and Health Sciences and is the Editor-in-Chief for the Online Journal of Rural Nursing and Health Care. Pam currently holds the position of Secretary on the Professional Nurses Association of South Central New York (PNASNCY) Board of Directors. Dr. Fahs teaches in the areas of health care and theory of rural and vulnerable populations as well as diversity across populations. Her areas of research are rural populations and cardiovascular health.

Cheryl Orzel-Teris

Cheryl Orzel-Teris MS, RN, NEA- BC - Past President

Served in multiple roles in the profession of nursing; administrative, staff and community. Interests remain in critical care, community health, nursing advocacy and the future of healthcare. Have served in multiple advisory roles. The 2012 Honored Nurse in Leadership, District 5, NY State Nurses Association. I have been provided with exceptional opportunities throughout my career that have left me with a sense of optimism into the future of nursing and the community in which we reside.


  • MS Nursing - Decker School of Nursing, Binghamton University
  • BS Nursing- Decker School of Nursing, Binghamton University
  • AAS Nursing- Broome Community College
  • Villanova University- (Certificate) - Nursing Administration
  • Ascension Health Management Formation
  • Advisory Board Fellowship, Talent Development Program, Washington DC.
  • Broome Leadership Institute, Binghamton, NY Chamber of Commerce


  • ANCC: Nurse Executive Advanced


  • American Nurses Association
  • Professional Nurses Association of South Central NY- Board member
  • NYSNA District 5-Board Member
  • Sigma Theta Tau-Board member
  • American Organization of Nurse Executives

How to become an officer or board member

The Board of Directors consists of five (5) officers, six (6) elected directors and the immediate past-president who shall act as ex-officio.

  • Directors shall be elected by ballot at the Annual Meeting. Two (2) Directors shall be elected each year for a term of three (3)
  • The vice president and the secretary shall be elected in the even numbered fiscal years for a two-year term.
  • The president-elect and the treasurer shall be elected in the odd numbered fiscal years. The treasurer shall be elected for a two-year term. The president-elect shall be elected for a one-year term. After serving that one-year term, the president-elect shall become president for a two-year term, and then ex-officio to the board for a one-year term.
  • Officers shall be elected by ballot at the Annual Meeting. Each term of office shall begin at the first of the year that follows the election

Contact us if you are interested in becoming an officer or director.


Past Presidents

(by the year they assumed the office)


1938   Mabel Anderson

1940   Iva Robinson

1944   Mary B. Robling

1946   Helen T. Cannon

1948   Albert Launt

1950   Norma O'Hara

1954   Kathleen Crowley

1956   Edna Murphy (resigned in November to pursue further education)

1956   Mary Robling

1959   Liila Pareis

1964   Anna Suplee

1968   Sister Mary Alice (resigned due to relocation)

1969   Dorothy G. O'Connor

1971   Margaret Manley

1977   Alice Whitcombe

1979   Mary K. Dempsey

1980   Frances Feldsine ·

1981   Mary X. (Masha) Britten

1983   Judith Shannon Lynch

1986   Louisa M. Ivan

1988   Pamela Stewart Fahs

1992   Michelle Materese

1994   Marita Florini

1996   Janet Zelesnikar

1998   Patricia Newland

2000   Linda Jowett

2001   Sally Hoffman

2004   Debbie Lis

2009   Wayne Mitteer

(In May 2014 we changed affiliations from NYSNA to ANA NY with new name)


2014   Cheryl Orzel-Teris

2018   Hai Tran

2019   Trisha Wharton